For Immediate Release

July 14, 2023

Contact: Keegan Bales keegan@congwomensoftball.org

PRESS RECLAIMS CONGRESSIONAL WOMEN'S SOFTBALL TROPHY

Game shatters previous record with over \$604,000 raised for young breast cancer patients

Washington, **DC** – The press team, known as the "Bad News Babes," won the fifteenth annual Congressional Women's Softball Game (CWSG) Wednesday night, after losing in an upset last year. While the members' team rallied in the final two innings, the press team's consistent strong hitting and tough defense proved too much to overcome. The final score was 15-9.

The Babes came out the gate hot, jumping to a 10-0 lead after three innings and extending their lead to 12-0 after five. The members' bats came alive in the sixth inning, cutting the lead to 12-4. Congress scored five more runs in the bottom of the seventh, however, the press team was able to fend off the rally and secured the victory.

"We raised a record amount of money for the Young Survival Coalition, had more fun than can be calculated, and reclaimed our title after a big scare from the Members of Congress toward the end," said Emily Goodin of The Daily Mail, co-captain of the Babes. "Could there be a more perfect night?"

Congress named Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) their MVP and awarded Rep. Becca Balint (D-VT) most spirited and Rep. Brittany Pettersen (D-CO) most improved. The Babes named CNN's Mikayla Bouchard their MVP, while PBS NewsHour's Lisa Desjardins received the most spirited award and Erica Hendry, also of PBS NewsHour, won most improved.

"I'm so proud of our organizing committee and volunteers who spent many months planning and worked so hard in order to achieve such a successful fifteenth anniversary game," said Atalie Ebersole, president of CWSG. "A sincere thank you to our sponsors who remain dedicated to our mission of helping young adults undergoing treatment for breast cancer and supporting early cancer screening awareness programs."

The game, which benefits the <u>Young Survival Coalition</u>, has raised \$3.7 million since its founding in 2009.

Special guests this year included actress Megan Cavanagh from the hit 1992 movie *A League of Their Own*, Second Gentleman Douglas Emhoff, Speaker of the House Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), former Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), House Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), House Majority Leader Steve Scalise (R-LA), Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY), and Interior Secretary Deb Haaland, who played for the member team in 2019. The first pitch was thrown by Maybelle Blair, a former All-American Girls Professional Baseball League player who was the inspiration behind the movie and new Amazon Prime Video television series *A League of Their Own*. Former Congresswoman Donna Edwards (D-MD) and former Chief Congressional Correspondent for The Associated Press David Espo were inducted into the 2023 CWSG Hall of Fame.