For Immediate Release

June 28, 2023

CONGRESSIONAL WOMEN'S SOFTBALL ANNOUNCES 2023 ROSTERS Eight rookies join Congress team for July 12 game

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The <u>Congressional Women's Softball Game</u> (CWSG) organizing committee announced the <u>rosters</u> for its fifteenth annual game, which will be held Wednesday, July 12, 2023 at Watkins Recreation Center on Capitol Hill.

The yearly summer event brings together female members of Congress from both parties to compete against female D.C. journalists to benefit the Young Survival Coalition (YSC), a non-profit that supports young adults with breast cancer. Last year's game broke CWSG's previous fundraising record, generating over \$535,000. This year's game has already raised over half a million dollars, with sponsorships still available.

There are eight rookies on the Congress team this year, which is led by captains Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Rep. Stephanie Bice (R-OK), and Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV). The press team, known as the "Bad News Babes," is comprised of all returning players. Congress pulled off a dramatic victory in the final moments of the 2022 game, and the "Babes" are eager for a rematch in the next chapter of this storied rivalry. Both teams have been practicing for months, as well as engaging in their fair share of trash talk.

Sponsorships are available through July 1. To learn more about sponsorship opportunities, please email atalie@congwomensoftball.org.

To RSVP for press credentials, please email <u>keegan@congwomensoftball.com</u>. Tickets can be purchased for \$10 <u>here</u> or at the field on game day.

Below are this year's rosters:

Congress Team

Rep. Becca Balint (D-VT)**

Rep. Stephanie Bice (R-OK)*

Rep. Nikki Budzinski (D-IL)**

Rep. Kat Cammack (R-FL)

Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)*

Rep. Kathy Castor (D-FL)

Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-OR)**

Rep. Angie Craig (D-MN)

Rep. Jasmine Crockett (D-TX)**

Rep. Sharice Davids (D-KS)

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)*

Rep. Sara Jacobs (D-CA)

Rep. Jen Kiggans (R-VA)**

Rep. Teresa Leger Fernandez (D-NM)

Rep. Lisa McClain (R-MI)

Rep. Mary Peltola (D-AK)**

Rep. Brittany Pettersen (D-CO)**

Rep. Hillary Scholten (D-MI)**

Rep. Kim Schrier (D-WA)

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)*

Coaches:

Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND-At Large)

Rep. Joe Morelle (D-NY)

Rep. Ed Perlmutter (Retired)

Tori Barnes

Natalie Buchanan Joyce

Jim Kiley

Press Team (aka "Bad News Babes")

Jen Bendery, HuffPost
Mikayla Bouchard, CNN
Bridget Bowman, NBC News
Carrie Budoff Brown, NBC News
Lisa Desjardins, PBS NewsHour
Gretchen Frazee, PBS NewsHour*
Emily Goodin, DailyMail.com*
Erica Hendry, PBS NewsHour
Emmarie Huetteman, KFF Health News
Kasie Hunt, CNN
Tamara Keith, NPR
Katie Lobosco, CNN
Mica Soellner, Punchbowl News
Lynn Sweet, Chicago Sun-Times
Amy Walter, The Cook Political Report

Coaches:

Carl Hulse, The New York Times Abby Livingston, Puck News Frank Thorp, NBC News

Sarah Wire, Los Angeles Times

^{*}Captain

^{**}Rookie